The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & The Olympians #1)

Leave a comment

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & The Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan

“Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school…again. And that’s the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy’s Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he’s angered a few of them. Zeus’s master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus’s stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.”

I bought this book on a whim because I’ve always been interested in mythology and the cover intrigued me. Then I read it in a day. I didn’t want to put it down until I was done. I loaned it to my 13 year old godson and he loved it as well. As did his mom who read it next. I’ve read it 4 times since I first bought it and I enjoy it just as much every time. A great series for people of all ages.

I’ve been interested in mythology since I was a kid and this book more than lived up to my expectations. The characters are well written (I actually like them, even some of the ones you aren’t supposed to like) and the use of the myths in the story makes it both more interesting to the reader and educational (isn’t it nifty when authors can stick some education into a story and the kids don’t really even know they’re learning?). Reading this book made me think of my sixth grade English teacher, Miss Hamilton, who taught us mythology. I had been interested in it before then but her passion for it created an even greater love for it for me. I imagine that she has read The Lightning Thief and probably loved it as well.

Paperback
392 pages
Published April 1st 2006 by Hyperion/Miramax Kid (first published June 28th 2005)
ISBN13: 9781615534302
British Fantasy Award (2005), American Library Assocation (ALA) Notable Book (2005), A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year (2005), SLJ Starred Review, Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award (2009), Askews Torchlight Award (UK) Winner, South Carolina Book Award for Junior Book Award (2008), Grand Canyon Reader Award for Tween Book (2008), Massachusetts Children’s Book Award (2008), Sunshine State Young Readers Award Winners (2007), Pacific Northwest Library Association Young Reader’s Choice Award for Intermediate (2008), Sunshine State Young Readers Grade 6-8 (2007), Iowa Teen Award (2009)

5 stars

Leave a Reply

