Back to the Classics Challenge 2012

6 Comments

I have a goal to complete a few reading challenges this year. I really, really need to get my tbr list down some as I am constantly adding to it AND, I have so many unread books in the house that I really can’t justify bringing any more in until I get some of these read and donated. So, if you are interested in doing any challenges, Sarah Reads Too Much has a bunch of them listed. Head over to her blog and check them out.

The first challenge that I have signed up to do is the 2012 Back to the Classics Challenge hosted by Sarah @ Sarah Reads Too Much. I’m always saying how I want to read more classics. Plus, this will help me get more books read on the list of 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die. Anyone want to join me in completing this challenge this year? I’m posting the info below; just head to Sarah Reads Too Much to sign up!

Here are the categories…

  • Any 19th Century Classic
  • Any 20th Century Classic
  • Reread a classic of your choice
  • A Classic Play
  • Classic Mystery/Horror/Crime Fiction
  • Classic Romance
  • Read a Classic that has been translated from its original language to your language {To clarify, if your native language is NOT English, you may read any classic originally written in English that has been translated into your native language}
  • Classic Award Winner {To clarify, the book should be a classic which has won any established literary award}
  • Read a Classic set in a Country that you (realistically speaking) will not visit during your lifetime {To clarify, this does not have to be a country that you hope to visit either. Countries that no longer exist or have never existed count.}

You can either choose your books before you start or as you go. I think I’ll choose before I start but I reserve the right to edit my choices if need be. I’ll create a page just for the challenge after Jan 1st that I will update as I complete books for the challenge.

I’ve enjoyed reading challenges in the past so I’m looking forward to completing this one. If anyone decides to join me, leave me a comment and let me know. Happy reading!

Go here to see my active Classic challenge page.

6 thoughts on “Back to the Classics Challenge 2012

  1. I’m such a bad classics reader. I never finish them, or I just ignore them entirely. I hope you do WAY better than me. And good luck – maybe one of your reviews will inspire me to try, try again.

  2. I usually ignore them myself, but I did read Jane Eyre and listened to Huck Finn on audiobook this year so I’m using that is inspiration for next year. But right this moment, I want to read all of the books you listed as your favorites for this year. Yay… more books added to my tbr list. šŸ™‚

  3. Classics are hard to read but the stories are so great! I wonder if you are allowed to read the abridged versions or the “real” thing? I’ve been reading the full version of 20,000 leagues under the sea and it is taking forever. I keep reading it because I like the story. Thanks for posting about the challenge. I am going to check it out!

  4. Hey, Erik, I did a search for 2012 reading challenges for kids and I found some that you might be interested in. Sadly, none of the ones I found are specifically for kids but I think a few of them are geared towards, or can be altered towards, younger readers such as yourself. I’m getting ready for work now but I’ll post a whole challenge page later so take a look and see if you are interested in joining any of them. And you’re right, classics are hard to read. This will probably be the most difficult challenge I do. lol

  5. I certainly wish you well with this challenge. I have about 30 classics sitting in my room collecting dust, along with a collection of shakespeare that I got for Christmas. I am just doing a 50 book challenge for 2012, and I haven’t added the classics to my list because they take so much longer to read then recently written books.

    I’m currently reading Robinson Crusoe … i’ve BEEN reading this book for about 6 months šŸ˜¦ I keep putting it down out of frustration.

    I will certainly be following you, and hope to gain inspiration, possibly for my challenge for 2013.

Leave a Reply

