April Monthly Challenge

7 Comments

This is another challenge I am participating in over at the Crazy Challenge Connection message board on goodreads.com.


Using the letters in the month of “April”, read a book that corresponds to each letter. You may use the first letter of the title, the first letter of the author’s first name, or the first letter of the author’s last name. As a bonus, read a book with “April” in the title, or a book with a main character named “April” (spelling does not have to be exact).


The challenge runs from April 1, 2012 through April 30, 2012. If anyone would like to join me in completing this challenge just leave me a note in the comments. I’d love to have some more friends joining in.


So, here is my list of books for April.



A – Animal Farm by George Orwell


P – Push by Sapphire – read 4/8. read my review here.


R – Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe


I – In Cold Blood by Truman Capote


L – Lord of the Flies by William Golding


Bonus: undecided

7 thoughts on “April Monthly Challenge

    • I’d love to have you do this one with me. You don’t have to sign up for anything official. I just like fun short challenges like this. I try to read books that I already have on my to-read list as part of these little challenges. As a matter of fact, all of the books I am going to read for April, I already own (and some of them I’ve owned for half of your life or longer!). 🙂

  1. Pingback: Quote of the Week, a Reading Challenge, and a Good Cause! « This Kid Reviews Books

  2. I learned about this challenge from Erik of This Kid Reviews Books, and thought it sounded like fun. I’ve also subscribed to your blog — I’m glad Erik gave the link for his readers to follow!

    Now to think of what books to read…

  3. Yay! Finally, a challenge that I *know* I can successfully complete!

    A= Let Me Help!/Quiero Ayudar – bilingual story by Alma Flor Ada, illustrations by Angela Dominguez (plenty of A there!)
    P= Prized – Caragh M. O’Brien (or maybe Pink Smog by Francesca Lia Block)
    R= Radiant Days – Elizabeth Hand
    I= I’ll Be There – Holly Goldberg Sloan
    L= Lives of the Artists – Kathleen Krull

    I’ll be looking for an April book, too.

    Recommendations for all 5 titles will be posted on http://www.abookandahug.com (thanks Barb Langridge for letting me help), while the P, R & I ones may also get expanded treatment (with no spoilers) on my blog BooksYALove.blogspot.com as great YA books beyond the bestsellers sometime after April 30.

    Like Beth (who pointed me to this challenge), I’ll be participating in the AtoZ Blog Challenge (http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/2012-to-z-challenge-sign-up-list.html) during April so I have already read the 26 books for those alphabetically arranged posting days!

  4. Ou, how interesting. And you chose some wonderful classics. I may have to do this. I’m pumped! If I don’t do this, I’m totally going to follow your reading of these and live vicariously through you.

Leave a Reply

